My Process

This is where I am in my process so far: Every morning I write three foolscap pages longhand, whatever comes to mind. That is important to clear my mind of all the thoughts and concerns of the day and sometimes to gather new ideas and intuitions. Later in the day, at any time, I type into my laptop for forty-five minutes. At that time my rule for myself is that I am working on a story, or nonfiction writing on a theme, or developing a plot, but the time is dedicated towards developing my writing craft. It is quite simple really, and is working well for me even in busy times. Also I have committed to myself that I will submit one story, essay or poem a month, either to a competition or to a magazine. That keeps me in the habit of facing the challenge of completing something and sending it off.

Leave a Reply

